Kate Mulgrew’s 2013 Holiday Message

20131120-184631.jpg

2013 Holiday Message

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I’ve had an extraordinary year – probably one of the most unexpected, mysterious, and galvanizing years of my life. I met a literary agent at a dinner party about 8 months ago and mentioned to him that I was a closet writer and had been for many years, to which he responded “Well, why don’t you think about peeking out of the closet and sending me a few pages of what you think your memoir would be like?”. I didn’t over-think it, I just went into a quiet room, sat down, and before I knew it there were 40 pages and a sample chapter which I submitted without thinking, whereupon he called me and said “I’m sending this to publishers immediately!”. One week later it had gone to auction, and I had a deal with Little, Brown. So it appears my memoir will be on bookshelves by May of 2015 – although the very writing of this makes me want to curl up into a ball and scream “Where’s my closet?!”. Having said all that, there is no time like the present and so as soon as season two on ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK wraps in January, I will go south with the rest of the geese and I will write this book.

Season 2 of ONB, like the book, has been entirely surprising, but since we are drawn and quartered if we give any spoilers at all, suffice it to say that the greatest tensions that can exist inside the women’s prison will be stretched to the breaking point in this season’s work. There will be gasps and shudders of horror, joy, shame and delight. But, as is mandated, you are just going to have to stream it in your own time!

Finally, I can’t remember when I’ve been happier – a word I have never used lightly – there’s a sense of buoyancy in my heart and in my imagination that has been missing for some time. Almost an ebullience. I often find myself standing stock still in the middle of the street or the park or in a subway station and just gazing at a flower, a person’s face, a couple embracing. And always with the sensation that it is brand new and is somehow made for me to see just then, in that moment, on that subway platform. It’s a blissful kind of existentialism I have never known and I am going to sail into 2014 with this in mind – wishing the same for each and every one of you.

Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Holidays and the Happiest of New Years!

Kate

Published in: on November 20, 2013 at 11:44 pm  Comments (24)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://katemulgrew.wordpress.com/2013/11/20/kate-mulgrews-2013-holiday-message/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. ill be interested to read your book, and i look forward to it, your talent is endless! love adam

  2. Wow – looking forward to reading my FIRST FULL BOOK

  3. How wonderful it sounds..
    I’ve been a fan of you and your characters since i was a kid and now i can’t think of anything else than reading your writtings. So far you’ve been an inspiration to me and im pretty sure you’ll be it again! :D

  4. Glad to hear that you’ve had a great year!

    I love Orange Is The New Black!

    I’m a big fan and I’m so happy to see you on screen again.

    Best Wishes!

  5. Thanks Kate,, you’ve been an influence on me, especially during my childhood. I have three daughters now, I can;t wait to show them what captain Janeway did for women. You rock, always did. Love from the N
    etherlands.

  6. Kate — I could tell at the Vegas con that you had gone o another level! You look and sound that “happy” energy you just mentioned as well as healthy, hilarious (you and Shat are GREAT together!), and humble. I sensed the gratitude then and now in your above post. Happy Holidays and we can’t WAIT to see you at the 2014 con and looking ahead: Voyager 20 anniversary in 2015—the best is yet to come! And the book: yes!

  7. Looking forward to that new book! You will no doubt fill the pages with freedom, ease and grace.

    Thrilled for you to have a heart so full that the simplest of things can still make you stop and be so engrossed with that moment that all time and life around you ceases to exit. That is always, always, always a miraculous experience. May you continue to be enamored with the life around you.

    Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Christmas and other Holidays and a very Happy New Year to you!

    Cheers to 2014 from TN

  8. Looking forward to your memoir. You write like you speak. With intelligence, honesty, and candor, Be well!
    Sister Ann Therese Kelly
    Illumination Stained Glass Studio

  9. Just please don’t stand stock still in the middle of the street too often! We want you to live long enough to write the book! LOL!!

  10. I’m happy for you my dear Kate. You know, I only knew you through the series Star Trek – Voyager and I confess that I miss it a lot. I also wish you a great holiday season and … be careful !

  11. Kate,
    What a beautiful space to hold! I’ve always enjoyed your acting, and it was your deep heartfelt work and personal experience with Alzheimer’s that made me look up to you as a human being of sincere and genuine integrity. May you be blessed with continued love, excitement and happiness now, in 2014, and all the years that follow. XO

  12. I will love to see your book, I hope it will be on Kindle and audible too.

  13. I have been a fan since Ryans Hope ,not to mention your my hero on star trek. Happy Holidays.xo

  14. Kate,
    I wish so much that I could have seen you at Nashville, So glad your writing a book, here’s to stopping to enjoy every blossom on the rose bush of life.

    Happy Everything Always
    Kate Mull

  15. not sure if you read these or not Kate, but I have to tell you you doo look happy and pretty darn hot too…..

  16. Can’t wait to read this book and watch the new season. I’m glad that we can watch you now again in good old Germany again aswell. The best wishes to you for 2014. Chris

  17. Looking forward to the book! Loved you since your performance on Heartbeat, knew you were destined for Star Trek, and such a wonderful character and accent on ONB. Best wishes to you this holiday season!

  18. Anxious to read your book, glad to hear things are going well for you. Orange looks good on you. I like to write myself, careful with the spell-checker, peeking and peaking are two different things.

  19. Happy Holidays Kate! Can’t wait to read the book! (Nor can I wait for Season 2 of ONB.) All the very best to you and your family.

  20. Look forward to the memoirs Kate. What a lovely message above, your words are elequent. You are clearly very talented and I would one day like to have an ounce of what your talent is. I loved you in ST:V and have rediscovered you in ONB.
    Happy thoughts and best wishes this thanksgiving,
    Festive season and all the very best for 2014 with your new adventures.

    Jay McMaster,
    Greenock, West Scotland
    UK

  21. Kate, Very simply, I love you, your professionalism and your chutzpah! I’ll be getting the book and not just for Janeway or Red. So happy that you’re happy. You make the daily grind better for the rest of us. Peace.

  22. Kate I not sure if you read these or not. I wish you an you family all the Best from 2014 also that we could med us one day. Bud I think it impossible bud there ar 6000 Miles of Distains between Luxembourg and America.
    With best Regards from Luxembourg
    Albert

  23. Love You Kate and Happy holidays love your new roll on Orange is the new black!

  24. Simply thank you for the joy that you transmit. Love you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

