Kate at Minnesota Medical Foundation Dinner

On Monday, October 26, 2009 Kate Mulgrew was guest speaker at the Minnesota Medical Foundation 2009 Annual Dinner which honors those who support health-focused education, research, and service at the University of Minnesota. Kate is involved in Alzheimer’s prevention research being performed by Dr. Karen Hsiao Ashe at The N. Bud Grossman Center for Memory Research & Care at the University of Minnesota. Kate feels passionately about this organization and Dr. Ashe’s research and hopes a cure, through prevention, can soon be found for Alzheimer’s.

Kate shared her speech with the website, but unfortunately the file I received last night was not complete. So in the meantime please view the video and I will add the rest of the text when I receive it.

http://www.totallykate.com/alzminn/speech09.html

Totally Kate Webmaster

Published in: on October 29, 2009 at 11:03 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://katemulgrew.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/kate-at-minnesota-medical-foundation-dinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. She doesn’t just play a Hero on T.V……she IS one! Her dedication to this more than worthy cause is both heroic and touching. Her Mom is proud I am certain.

  2. Oh my. I advise any fan of Kate’s who hasn’t read this speech yet to go and read it through. It actually made me cry slightly, and I don’t cry easily, I consider myself pretty tough.

    The eloquence and love with which she describes her mother’s life is beautiful, and she really conveys the harshness of what happened to her mind after the Alzheimer’s struck. Both these things really hit me whilst reading, and the ‘She did not know at the end’ she used a few times works on so many levels.

    Congratulations, Kate Mulgrew, for being there for your Mum and then having the strength to talk about it so well. I am so often impressed by you, and I find myself even more so after reading and watching this speech.


Leave a Reply

